Spark Zen
Spark Zen Podcast
On Suffering & Social Justice
0:00
-1:16:20

On Suffering & Social Justice

A podcast conversation with a dear high school friend
My high school friend Donáh’s podcast is heartfelt, inspirational, and topical. Give a listen when you have a moment.

In July 2020, I offered a Dharma talk at Tassajara Zen Mountain Center titled Smashing Pumpkins. In it I recount an incident that occurred when I was a senior at Mount Vernon (NY) High School. My friend Donáh O. heard the talk via a link on my FB page and reached out to me. We had not been in communication since graduating in (gasp!) 1985. It’s been wonderful reconnecting and renewing our friendship. Last year, Donáh invited me to be on her podcast “Move Through and With Heart.” Below is Donáh’s introduction to our podcast conversation.

Jul 23rd, 2021

In this episode, I had the opportunity to sit down and talk to a Zen Buddhist priest about how our thoughts are the cause of so much suffering. We discuss social justice, the Buddhist Four Noble Truths, and how the mind causes troubling thoughts. This is a great talk on how we can see the world from a different perspective. Rev. Shoren shares her spiritual journey from being raised a Roman Catholic to being a Roaming Catholic to ordaining as a Zen priest on October 2014.

SparkZen is a labor of love fueled by a deep aspiration that all beings may know peace. To receive new posts and support this work, please consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Peace.


Due to my leading a half-day meditation retreat today, I was not able to finish my Sunday Spark essay. I hope you enjoyed listening to my and Donáh’s conversation.

May all beings be free from suffering and the causes of suffering. May all beings know peace.

Thank you for reading SparkZen. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

0 Comments
Spark Zen
Spark Zen Podcast
Curious about Zen/Buddhism? Seeking some inspiration and guidance (and humor!)? Then this podcast is for you! Join me for lively conversations with inspiring teachers, authors, activists, and practitioners.